Hi all! 

I'm about to enlist in the National Guard in order to proceed to IPAP next fall. I'm currently an undergrad with one semester of school left and have fulfilled all requirements except 2 chemistry credits and shadowing hours and I just have a few questions.

I've been told that PAs in the guard, after completing school, only have to drill 4 times a year, does anyone know if this is true?

I'm also curious if anyone knows if, during the program, students stay on base or if they are paid BAH and if my significant other would be able to move with me?

In addition, I currently only have a 3.1 GPA (hopefully 3.2 by the time of graduation), is this considered competitive? I considered retaking classes but an AMEDD recruiter told me they take all classes into consideration to make a GPA and not just my university GPA (my university replaces up to 3 letter grads in the GPA for retaken classes).

Overall, if you don't know any answers to my questions but have some input about the IPAP, I'd love to hear it! I've been searching for first hand experiences to learn more about it but it's hard to find!

Thank you in advance for your time!

You are not going to like what I have to say but, no a 3.2 is not competitive. HOWEVER it can be overshadowed by things like high GRE, stellar essays, and HIGH PCE. If you can repeat your lowest science classes and make as many Pre-Reqs possible to be A's, that will definitely help you. Next step is shadowing, get close to 100+ hours to offset the GPA. My GPA is a 3.4 so I know where you are coming from a little. It is not unheard of for someone with a 3.2 to get it, it just is more difficult. Amp up the rest of the app as best you can.

I can not speak on the military experience....