2.6 gpa realistic to get in?

Hello, I am currently working as a custom orthotic fitter and retaking classes trying to apply for the 2018 year, I fit orthotic equipment like back knee and ankle braces with patients 1 on1 as well as regularly collaborate with doctors about patient best interest. would this count as good patient contact experience? I don't want to waste my time if this will not help me in the long run. I have over100 hours shadowing a PA and good letters of rec. I also have a very low gpa of 2.6 and a 2.5 bio gpa. my degree is in cell and molecular biology and I'm taking anatomy 1 and anatomy 2 this summer.I plan to retake classes like organic 1 and 2 I got Cs in. Would that be my best option? Are my chances realistic for being a pa? Any feedback is very appreciated thank you!

• Administrator

You need to get the GPA up to at least a 3.0.  You don't say how many hours of HCE you have, but unless it's north of 5,000 or so, I doubt any of the schools that look at <3.0 GPA are interested in you.  To raise the GPA, take appropriate science classes and get 4.0's in them, ideally while continuing to accrue HCE.

The issue isn't whether or not your chances are realistic, but how many years (!) you're willing to dedicate to getting there.  It can seriously take years of part-time classes to raise a GPA enough from that level, but there are plenty of forum members here who have done just that.  If you're dedicated, it's possible.  If not... well, not.

Thank you for the feedback! Do you recommend retaking classes with Cs like organic chemistry 1 and 2 or new upper level biology/chem? I have taken a lot of upper level classes but mostly with B and C grades. I'm taking anatomy 2 for the first time but have a c + in anatomy