Deciding between two programs: UTMB & Western University

I was set to attend UTMB in Galveston since being accepted in November. Today I received an acceptance to Western University in Pomona.

I am a native SoCal resident. I love CA, but I have grown tired of the traffic. I hate driving.

Cost at Western is about 41,000 each year, it is a 24 month program.

Cost at UTMB is about 36,000 the first year, 39,000 the second and about 7,000 for the extra three months, it is a 27 month program.

Rent in Galveston is about the same because I am traveling with three dogs and am limited in housing options. Leaving them is not an option.

PANCE rate at Western for 2015 was 92% with a five year average of 90%.

PANCE rate at Galveston for 2015 was 100% and in 2016 it was 95% with a five year average of 98%. The data for 2016 at Western was not listed.

I am now torn. I like Texas and was looking forward to moving out of CA. However, staying in CA would be less disruptive to my life at this time. However, I do not like that Western does not have their own hospital, clinics and rotations can take place up to a 60 mile radius. UTMB has a large network of local rotation sites, which I like.

I am a bit hung up on prestige. I think UTMB is a better program overall. But Western is close to home and I would be able to keep the same medical, dental, car insurance etc. My family would also be close by. I have a chronic medical condition and I would have to find a new network of providers if I go to Texas.

I want to be the best provider I can be. I guess I am wondering if I would have equal potential at either program? Moving is worth the hassle only if there is a real difference between programs. I don't know if there really is.

What have you heard about either program? Thoughts? Suggestions?

My head hurts just thinking about the choice.

Thanks in advance.

Ultimately you are the only one who can make the call but a couple things stand out to me based on what you said.