From Teacher to PA - next steps?

Hi there,

I’m a 2015 Yale graduate in my second-year of the two-year Teach For America program, teaching bilingual chemistry and physics at the high school level. I teach in a historically underserved community where 75% students are low-income, 54% are English Learner, and the majority are Latin@ and/or undocumented. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but the most rewarding thing I've ever done. Since starting teaching, I’ve realized that the way I truly want to impact historically underserved people is through affordable healthcare as a mid-level practioner, i.e. PA. I was in the pre-med mindset for a while in college, but can't do that now as I'm supporting mom and siblings.

At Yale, I majored in art history and minored in integrated science. My overall G.P.A. is 3.47 and science G.P.A. is a little above 3.0. In terms of healthcare experience, I worked as an Emergency Medical Technician for 2 years and 2 months with Yale New Haven Hospital as an undergraduate. I also worked with patients, collecting their medical histories and NSAID drug usage as a Clinical Epidemiology Research Assistant at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs for 10 months. And I also served as an AED inspector for 8 months.

Here’s my golden question: would I still need more healthcare experience to apply to most PA schools? I want to teach for maybe another 1-2 years to take all the science pre-reqs again at a local community college (in summer/at night) and ace them to improve my science G.P.A. In fact, chemistry and physics were total losses and that's why I chose to teach them with Teach For America. But if I need more healthcare experience, I’d probably have to retest and become an EMT again but I can’t afford the pay cut because I’m already stretching my teacher salary to support a family of five. What would you do if you were me?

Thanks in advance!