Medical Laboratory Scientist to PA: Should I get EMT to get Patient Care Hours?

I am a Medical Laboratory Scientist, currently working in a large hospital laboratory, and I am very interested in becoming a PA and I would appreciate any advice given!  I am a generalist, so I work in all of the labs (Hematology, Chemistry, Blood Bank, UA/Coag and some Micro) on any given day.  Over the last year, I have become more and more interested in the PA profession and it looks like something that I would love to do.  I am now 36 years old, so a little late to the game, but I also know it's not too late.  However, I am a little worried that some of my prereq classes are a little too old.  I graduated with a Biology Degree in 2004.  Will schools still accept older classes or should I retake some of them?  

Also, as I work in the lab, I do not get any patient interaction, should I look into getting a part-time job to get patient contact experience or should my experience in the lab be enough for HCEs?  I thought about getting an EMT certification and trying to get a part-time job as an ER tech.  

Also, finally my GPA wasn't all that great as an Undergrad.  My BCP GPA is 3.04, however my Post Baccalaureate Science GPA is 3.54.  I'm hoping that since I did well in a very rigorous MLS program (3.75), while also working full time, that it could offshoot my undergrad GPA.  Am I correct in this assumption?  

So, I guess my main question is, should I get my EMT to try to gain my patient care experience or focus more on retaking prerequisite classes?  

Thanks for any advice that can be given!

Short answer is YES! I was an mlt before I took a research job to give me more time to complete pre reqs. My biggest mistake was not taking an emt class before anything else to allow myself to gain pce. I was waitlisted this year and am currently finishing an emt program. Learn from my mistake and take it asap!

Good luck!

Guest HanSolo