I might lose a potential Letter of Recommendation

I currently work as an EMT for a large university's on-campus EMS service and I was planning on asking my boss for a letter this April. One of the reasons why I was hired was because of my supposed time commitment to the job. Employee retention is sometimes a problem so they try to avoid hiring students who will quit/leave early after time and money has already been spent on training them. I really emphasized I would be able to stay on for a good amount of time in my interview and in talking with my boss. Plus, a lot of people are already graduating so they really need people to work. 

However, life plans have changed and I'll be leaving this job at the end of July. I didn't sign any contract but the fact that I'm quitting earlier than I said would may or may not complicate the way she (my boss) views me. I don't want there to be any tension because that may also complicate the quality of the LOR (if she still decides to write one which I think she still will).

My plan now is to just go to her directly and explain my situation/letter of recommendation request. Do ya'll have any recommendations in how I should approach this situation? What I should say?  How do I not mess up this very important conversation?

I appreciate any help. 

I really don't have another LOR lined up if I don't get one from my boss though. And I  honestly think she's reasonable enough to understand my situation and still write one. Plus, I'll be there for about 9 months so it isn't like it's only been a couple weeks. I'll keep your advice in mind 

• Administrator

(shrug) An ideal LOR should be from someone who 1) knows you, 2) is impressed with your work, 3) appreciates your work ethic/motivation/conduct, and 4) has the right letters after their name.  No one gets all their LORs from folks with all four attributes pegged, but the closer the better.