Hello there,

I am a non-traditional student aspiring to get into the SMU PA program. I'm currently an EMT in Oakland and taking my prereqs at CSUEB. I have a little over 1,000 hours HCE. My GPA is not stellar however the latest 60 units of hardcore science curriculum I have maintained a 3.7 GPA in my Microbiology/ Biomedical Laboratory Science major. 

I am reaching out to the people who have already gotten accepted to please chime in and tell us some of your achievements leading up to your acceptance into the program. Any help would be truly extraordinary in helping me to hone in on what I need to improve as an applicant and as an individual. Any advice is welcomed and truly appreciated. 

-Best,

Humble Student 

I don't know if you had it or not but if you do not, volunteer time and PA shadowing/experience time, they want 50 hours worth minimum. Besides that everything looks like its going good, just get as much HCE as you can and keep up the good grades. Also, as Pa applications increase it is definitely going to get more competitive year to year, so I would suggest to plan for a war of attrition and write the best personal statement you can. Sorry dont know if this helps I literally jus got into this program and have similar states. The only thing that I think that got me the interview was having 13 years of experience. 

Anyway good luck and I hope this helps

Keep trying to advance in your job. I was an EMT for AMR AlCo too, and I think having an FTO position, and Alt. Sup leadership among my years of experience is what really set me apart from other applicants in my interview group. EMT hours are great because they add up fast, I applied with over 10k!