Ontario First Class of PAs Have Trouble Finding Jobs

Physician assistants graduate to unemployment line

Ontario’s first crop of physician assistants are graduating this summer but some fear they could be heading straight to the unemployment lines or leaving the province to find a job.

PAs, as they are known in the health field, are stalwarts in military medicine and popular in most U.S. hospitals. Nearly four years ago, the Ontario government decided to begin a program to introduce PAs here as one way to handle the doctor shortage. McMaster University started the first provincial PA program in 2008.

Now, the first of 21 graduates leave McMaster this August armed with a BSc in PA and nothing but faint promises from the provincial health ministry that jobs will be found for them in the health system.......

If you check the Ontario Health website, there are some PA jobs posted - but they appear to be out of urban centers so those positions will be harder to fill. If I was a new grad desperate for a job though, I would consider going just about anywhere....although I don't imagine northern Ontario is a balmy place in the winter. I was under the impression that there is a province wide initiative to utilize PAs in ERs for patient triage and "fast tracking" - but maybe that's not the case. There has been a lot of resistance to PAs in Ontario especially from the Registered Nurses of Ontario, who have launched an all out turf war.

Unfortunately, the NCCPA hasn't accepted the Canadian programs for accreditation yet, so it's not like they can come south of the border and take the PANCE and start practicing.

Unfortunately, the NCCPA hasn't accepted the Canadian programs for accreditation yet, so it's not like they can come south of the border and take the PANCE and start practicing.

This is confusing....why would you have a program that wouldn't allow you to take the PANCE, even if you just plan to stay in Canada? No wonder they'll have trouble finding jobs....