Advice for retaking science courses/improving GPA

So while the jury is still out for this application cycle, I was denied an interview at my preferred school and I will need to register for spring classes very soon if I'm going to work on improving my GPA to attempt the next cycle. I have been working as an RN for over 4 years, a majority of my pre-reqs are from prior to nursing school (so next cycle, some may need to be retaken just because they're too old) and I've got a couple C's in my older sciences. Most recent sciences have been almost all A's (including O-chem) so I think I've demonstrated much improved study habits.

All in all I feel pretty certain on what I need to do to make myself a better candidate and improve my chances, mainly improve GPA, cast a wider net and stay well ahead of my deadlines. I also plan to take the GRE which will greatly expand my options. My question is, would it be more beneficial for me to, for example, retake my Chem 1 with a grade of C a long time ago or take a more advanced science like O-chem II? I'll only have spring and summer next year to take classes before I reapply so I want to make the most of that time.

Also, first time using this forum which would have likely helped me during this cycle but hoping to get it right this time. ;)