How is your office run?

OK, so I'm a new graduate (derm) who has been employed in my first job for almost 4 months. My question is to all the experienced PAs who have been working for many years, who have worked in different offices.

Question: Are most offices run in an organized, efficient manner, or is every office a bit chaotic? My place of employment has a constant turnover of medical assistants, front desk appointment girls, the office manager and I just replaced one of the 2 PAs that quit after 8 months. The office is disorganized and I'm doing medical assistant duties as well as PA responsiblities.

I'm contemplating finding another job but if every office is similar (maybe not this bad), then it wouldn't be worth starting all over again to end up in the same environment that I'm in now. What should I expect? What is YOUR office like?

Just need some input and advice from some experienced providers.

Thanks

lol this should be a good thread!

Welcome to medicine. I don't know if it is the nature of what we do or that we as a field are trying to do too much with too little staff? What you are experiencing is the norm. It's kind of a controlled chaos where SO many things can slip by it's scary. The company I work for now hires people with NO nursing training and "trains" them to give shots, set up trays etc. They are not even true MA's. I was told by the semi-office manager that it should not take longer then two weeks to train someone off the street to "nurse" for us providers.

Just Wow....

my office is run to make money for the senior partners, as a mere PA I am left with a rotation of MA's that are all young and overworked (for $12/hour)

the front office manager has total control over my schedule, I can't even schedule a follow up, they will book a 90 yr old with syncope for a 10 min appointment and a 23 yr old female with a UTI for a 20 minute