Sign in to follow this  
Poetsiren

How long did you study NRCME before the exam?

I'm just curious.... I am taking an NRCME online course right now for DOT. I start my new position in Occ Med and UC soon.

How long did you study the NRCME materials after taking the course before you took the exam?

I did a NRCME practice test before even knowing any of the material and got a 61%, so I'm not too worried about the test at the moment..... Just kind of want the test phase out of the way.

Guest UVAPAC

As a new graduate when I took the NRCME exam, I was pretty nervous, so I studied more than the above suggested 5-10 hours.

After having taken the examination, I can say it is a rather easy test.  As long as you know the basic requirements for DOT Physical Examinations, and common medical knowledge/sense... a couple of hours should be sufficient.  (Essentially read the handbook that comes with your review course over a handful of times.)

It depends. A lot of the material is pretty straight-forward. But it can get confusing. The 5-10 hours mentioned above sounds reasonable for most people. Some of the biggest value to review courses is the material you get to keep and use as you continue doing the DOT physicals. Great for quick reference if you get stuck.  

If you're interested, I have a coupon code for PAs ("physicianassistant") to get 40% off anything from The DSG (DOT Study Guide). It might be worth checking out. Here's the link: dotstudyguide.bandcamp.com

Good luck on the exam!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content