ER Tech Interview Advice

Along with many here I'm in the same boat of chipping away pre-reqs and trying to accumulate some good HCE. I've been a volly EMT-B for 6+ months and work a desk job, however, I've been hopelessly trying to replace this desk job with any kind of hospital experience for almost a year now. After many failed apps I have finally received an interview for my [short term] dream job: ER Tech. My EMT exp. got me the initial call from HR and I'm pretty sure reaching out to my best friend's mom (vet RN at the hospital) clinched me the interview.

My background aside, I was wondering if anyone here could chime in with some general tips, advice, words of wisdom, humor, etc. - basically anything that could help me prepare for my interview. I've checked other forums already and I'll be sure to ask people I already know that are/have been ER Techs, but I wanted to see what PAF'ers had to say.

TIA (thanks in advance, not transient ischemic attack - lame, I know)

Know your role/job expectations. Through the EMT educational experience I'd bet serious money that you were exposed to instructors who truly felt that Emergency Medical Technicians were the solution the woes of the injured person. aka: super heroes. I subscribe to that belief, being one myself. However...in the ER, the role of EMT transitions from "arrive on scene, take charge, save lives" to "follow the orders/directions of the RNs/docs" or something like that.

Be eager to work, eager to learn, eager to step in and help, be eager to support the team. Leading the team will come later in your medical career.

Good luck

repeat after me:

" I am willing to do anything I can to make the department run smoothly and any tasks you want to train me for I am happy to learn. I can work anytime you need me to including nights, weekends, and holidays".