Student Case: "The Precordial Thump"

You, the intrepid EM PA resident, arrive for your Saturday night shift in a busy rural ED.  

You sit down for all of a minute when you see your first patient being wheeled in by EMS and you get up to meet them at the bedside.  

They report, "we've got a 78 yo F coming in from home, here for generalized weakness and SOB for the past week or so.  Vitals are 142/68, HR 156, Satting 95% on RA.  Her son told us she has a history of dementia, DM, heart attack, and "kidney problems."  Your quick glance at her and she is awake, somewhat comfortable appearing, stable for now.  

What else would you like to know from EMS?  

How do you begin to assess the patient?  

What are you asking your nursing staff to do in the meantime?

Since I am still a new PA resident, I wanted to share this case with the understanding that I still have a lot to learn and may not be able to answer all of your questions.  Hopefully the experienced PAs will chime in and we can all work through the best thought-process for this case together.

(If the forum newbies don't recognize the "intrepid PA", please search for andersenpa's prior cases.  I really enjoyed reading them as a student, and now this is my way of trying to contribute)

(UPDATE 2018 ) I have subsequently done more student cases and will continue to do them.  To check out my others, click the below links...

"stink eye case" / red eye chief complaint

"Found down" -   

More to come!  

PS - Requests welcomed... if you have a chief complaint you struggle with, let me know and I'll reach back into the memory bank for cases related to those!

Good thoughts so far, team.  That tachycardia rule is really good to keep in mind.

You ask her the questions but she seems somewhat confused and starts going off on a tangent about how she doesn't like hospitals.