wearing engagement/wedding ring to work

I am a physician assistant student in my first year and my boyfriend recently proposed to me! :] He didn't have a ring when he proposed because he couldn't find a jeweler to do what he wanted in time, but that's not the point to me posting lol. We went ring shopping the other day and I casually mentioned that I will be in the healthcare field - wearing gloves and washing my hands a lot - and the salesperson told me that I wouldn't be able to wear my engagement ring to work and if I wore a wedding band it should be a plain gold band. I guess I hadn't thought about that before so I wanted to get some advice from all of you in the field. I am pretty set on going into pediatrics.. not sure if that makes a difference. So any of you female married PAs have advice on the topic? I guess I'm just trying to see how fancy of a ring I can get away with... my ideal engagement ring and wedding band would both have prong-set diamonds on the band - like this one: post-38389-137934850979_thumb.jpg

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Laura :]

Get your ideal ring to wear in your day to day life. Then get the cheapest band you can find to wear while you are working clinically. When I say cheap, I mean it - my wife wears a $5 band I bought her at a religious gift store.

Lots of people like to do goofy things like safety pin their ring to their scrubs when they work. It might take a day, a month or ten years, but sooner or later you will lose it...

My wife is a PT. Has a cheap chip of a diamond in a gold band as her daily wearer ring. Then recently she started wearing her nice ring. Has to clean it pretty often but is wearing it. Gotta imagine that outpatient peds is similar But leave the flashy rock at home. No one needs to feel inferior because of a ring

I think the ring bling is less to do with making someone feel inferior (depends on your practice setting though) and more to do with practicality and avoiding damage.