Class of 2019 Hopefuls

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi all!

I'm new to applying. This is my first cycle.  I wanted to bring forward my stats and would like to hear some feedback as far as where I would stand. 

Graduation Date: April 2014

University: Oakland University (Rochester, MI)

Major: Bachelors of Health Sciences with concentration in Integrative Holistic Medicine

Pre-Req GPA: 3.6/3.7

Nutrition- 3.8

Medical Law/ Ethics- In Progress

Statistics- 3.0

Advanced Human Physiology- 4.0

Clinical Microbiology- 3.9

Developmental/ Lifespan Psychology- 3.7 

Overal CASPA GPA: 3.12

Patient Contact Hours: 3,900 (paid, Certified Nursing Assistant)

Healthcare Experience: Dental Office Manager, Care Management Administration

Shadowing Hours: ~70 (Trauma, Surgical Service, Rapid Response, and Neurology) 

Letters of Reccomendation: 1 from Neurology PA (I work with her on my hospital unit), 1 from a Derm/GI PA (I volunteered at her clinic in Chicago), 1 from my unit manager, and 1 from a professor (professor for my biochem/pathology courses, conducts breast cancer research at OU). 

Extra Curricular:

Pre-PA Society, Vice President (Oakland University)

Keep Detroit Beautiful, Brand Ambassador (Detroit, MI) 

Gamma Phi Beta Sorority, Executive Board Member, Volunteer Coordinator

Gamma Phi Beta, Recruitment/ Chapter Advisor (Beta Chapter- University of Michigan) 

GRE: I had a low GRE the first time I took it.... but I am retaking it in the next few months. 

Any recommendations for me? I am currently taking a few courses just to keep up with my studies. I currently work at the hospital, volunteer, and am prepping for a mission trip in December. 

Please feel free to give me any tough love!

Thanks!

Hi all! I'm a PA student at Detroit Mercy, feel free to email me (murawsjn@udmercy.edu) or Snapchat me @jamienicole3x or Reddit PM @jamienicole3x if you have any questions. [i was also accepted to GVSU (that's my alma mater for my Bachelor's)].