Psych PAs?! New Grad Considering Psych Job.

Hey all!  I'm interested to hear from any current psych PAs out there!  I'm a new graduate and heavily considering taking a job in forensic psychiatry.  I am curious to see how you all feel about your choice to work in psych?  

Job responsibilities?  

Scope of practice?  

Are you content with your field of medicine?  

Do any of you handle other conditions in your position (other than psychiatric conditions)?  

If you wanted to leave psychiatry some day, do you feel you would be able to move into another specialty?  If so, what specialties do you feel would be good "lateral" moves?

Thank you all for your time!

I can't speak to the field of forensic psychiatry, I work in outpatient psych.  I have a ton of autonomy considering I graduated 12/2015 and have only been on my own with patients in this practice for the last 7 months.  I often wish I had more "supervision".  I see too many patients.  I am always behind.  I don't get paid enough to be dealing with all that I deal with.  I can't prescribe suboxone yet because the law that allows me to do that is too new for the required training to be available.  Otherwise I have pretty much the same scope of practice as the docs.  They see my patients periodically just to check in..  It is nonetheless an incredibly satisfying job.  I do play PCP sometimes because I don't want to be treating something as a psych problem when it is a physical problem, for example diabetes and hypothyroid.  If I were to change specialties I would do neurology.  There is an awful lot of overlap between neuro and psych.  I would never ever ever ever want to be in primary care much as I loved the rotation in PA school.