Need Career Advice: Engineer to PA?

Hi,

I'm a mid-career aerospace engineer and I'm seriously looking at making a career change to PA or some other professional field in medicine. I got certified as an EMT-Basic earlier this year and really enjoyed learning about the human body and emergency medicine. Also, I like to help people. As a result, I'm considering making a career change to medicine.

I'm hoping to get career advice (i.e., sanity check) from you fine folks here. As a mid-career engineer, I get paid well, treated well, and I enjoy what I do. I just feel that I've come close to peaking in my career and would like to do something different. I don't want to become one of those tired and grouchy older engineers just hanging in there long enough to retire.

So, while working on pre-reqs, I figure the fastest I could start a PA program would be two years from now which means the fastest that I could graduate PA school would be about 4.5 years from now. Right now, my only debt is my house mortgage and I'm single with no dependants so I don't have to worry about unsettling a wife and kids. Financially, I can take the hit of not being gainfully employed for 2.5 years while in PA school.

So, would you recommend that I consider changing careers to a PA or maybe some other professional-level medical field (e.g., nurse or something else)? I say "professional-level" as I'd like to maintain a similar standard of living (middle class) even though I'd be starting at the bottom and would be taking a pay cut.

Alternatively, I could continue working full-time as an engineer and maybe work part-time as a paramedic (only one year of training for that). I'd just need to figure out how to stay fresh and not become a grouchy old fart. :-)

Anyway, thanks in advance for any advice. Please tell me if this sounds stupid. Don't sugarcoat it!