Hi guys,

I have been working in family medicine for around 10 months in Houston TX. It's around a 45 minute drive from my house both ways and I am getting a little burnt out from seeing 20 patients a day 5 days a week. I make 90k a year and have 3 weeks vacation and 1 week CME (which I can use as vacation). 401k after one year, no health insurance (i dont really need it since I am under my husband), malpractice without tail. I have always seen myself just doing family medicine for a year, and then going into another field like dermatology.

I was recently offered a position at a allergy clinic. I feel like this might be a stepping stone to dermatology because they see a lot of skin allergy patients? I'm not sure. Anyways, the benefits are 100k, 2 weeks PTO, no extra for CME. health insurance, paid licenses, and that's about it for benefits. I would travel between three locations depending on what day it is. All locations are between 30 minutes - 45 minutes from my home. I would see less patients -around 8 - 10 patients per day. 5 days a week. I kept telling him that I wanted 4 weeks PTO. But he said he cant offer that because then he would have to close the entire clinic whenever I take off. I feel like the salary is really good  but the PTO is just so low and I love to travel. It's also still super far from my home and I really wanted a position closer to home..

Thoughts?

Ignoring the differences between family medicine and allergy clinic - it seems like the differences are basically seeing less patients per day, making $10k more per year, while giving up 2 weeks PTO.  Then of course you have to consider the cost of leaving a job that doesn't have tail coverage - you should really try to change that ASAP if you stay at your family medicine job.  Maybe research how much that would cost to cover yourself and negotiate that instead of your next pay raise.