Starting Dermatology Salary

Hey all.

I have an interview with a dermatology practice in a couple of weeks. I've already had a phone interview and I like what they had to say. The practice owner seemed to like me as well. I get the feeling that the position is mine if I want it (just a feeling, of course....who knows what will happen).

She brought up salary, but I did not have an answer at that time. It seems like it is something that she wants to address during our in-person interview.

So what would you all say is a fair salary for someone new to dermatology? I have 3.5 years of family medicine experience (with minor dermatology). So I can identify and treat things like dermatitis, tinea, warts, etc. I also have experience with cryo, punch biopsies, and skin biopsies.

Also, because I am new to dermatology and they are willing to train me, she brought up a 3 to 5 year contract. Honestly, I would be okay with 3 (especially since I just got out of the military....so I'm used to contracts lol....and would like some stability after some bad experiences in the civilian world).

So where do you guys think I should start with salary? (I have looked at the salary report, but I would just like some opinions from other PAs as well)

And what's your view on the length of the contract?

Also, this is a PA-owned practice. Is that a good thing or a bad thing (or doesn't matter) in your experience?

What state is the job in? Any talk of productivity incentives after you earn X amount for the practice?

My good friend from pa school just took on a derm job- she's been in fam practice and plastics 1.5 yrs each (3yrs total out of school) and is making $60/HR and once she makes the practice $450k (typically by July or August of each year) she earns 30% of whatever she bills out. In addition she works 4 days a week (10hr days). Seems like a solid offer. Meanwhile I'm over here making way less in an ICU with way sicker patients. I'm definitely in the wrong field LOL