Hi everyone,

I am starting my first job out of school in June. Seeing as though I graduated in December I am a bit worried over this large gap I will have from school and work. Further, I do not feel as though my IM rotation gave me an accurate taste of what work in IM will consist of.

Can some of you guys suggest good reading for me to do over these next 2.5 months to best prepare me? Preferably books or video sources that go through the "bread and butter" of IM.

Thanks a lot! Any other tips at all would be helpful

Review management of: DM, HTN, COPD, CHF. DVT/PE, CKD, PNA, lyte imbalances and corrections, post op fever sources, sepsis, anemia, and blood transfusion criteria.  I worked as a hospitalist for 1.5 years after feeling pretty comfortable with medicine already after working ER for years.  I used UpToDate for pretty much everything.  

• Upvote 2

- Read 'Step-up to Medicine.'  The 4th edition just came out but get the 3rd edition if you're on a budget.  99% of it will be the same and you can get it much cheaper on Amazon/half.com.

- Read the IM Resident Readiness book if you find a case-based approach helpful 

- Buy 'Medicine' by Paul Chan, which is an excellent reference to have around for admissions.  It gives you lots of information on what to order based on a diagnosis.  

- Buy an uptodate subscription if there isn't an institutional one.  This will be your go-to for everything and also gives CME.

- Get the upgraded version of Epocrates.  It is well worth the $150 or whatever it is.

- Subscribe to EMRAP if you like listening to podcasts.  It's an ER podcast but there is a lot of crossover.  You won't care about the discussions on peds fractures but you will get a lot out of discussions on sepsis, VTE, etc.

- Marino's 'The ICU Book' is helpful as a reference(or just to read) if you will be doing anything in the ICU

For topics to study, go to the NCCPA website and look at the hospital medicine CAQ topics list.

• Upvote 1