USPHS - disqualified and very disappointed

Hi all, 

I just wanted to vent/write this out and maybe get some feedback. I have been working at the BOP since 9/2014, and almost immediately I began the process of trying to get into the USPHS. I had gone through a couple of bad private sector jobs, and finally I felt like I found my calling with the BOP and with the prospect of USPHS service. My whole department is PHS: Both my bosses, the physician, dentist, pharmacist, nurses, and they have all been very supportive in helping me convert - writing letters of rec, etc. In August of 2015, I had finished the interview and was seemingly awaiting my date for OBC when I was disqualified medically.

In 2014, I had gone for therapy for about 4 sessions over 3.5 months, when I was feeling bad about being unemployed and also dealing with a breakup. I hadn't taken any meds, wasn't hospitalized or anything - I had just needed to talk to someone and regain a positive mindset. Well, that decision to be proactive about my mental health was apparently the worst decision I ever made. My therapist diagnosed me with Major Depressive Disorder, and when the USPHS medical board got this information, I was disqualified. I was permitted an appeal for the decision, which included more letters of rec from my SP (the clinical director), my boss, the warden of my facility, and another personal statement. I tried to get the therapist to change his diagnosis to Adjustment Disorder (he said no, that I met the criteria for MDD and that was that). He did write me a letter saying the condition was resolved, there is no follow up indicated, etc. The answer from USPHS after I appealed: Still no.