My (ex) doctor gossips about me?

Guest ERCat

Guest ERCat

I had a family doctor I went to twice in the past when I was a freshman in college. I dealt with an ED at the time and asked the nurse once if I could skip being weighed until I saw the doctor as I was there for ED related issues. At the time, right or wrong, I was terrified of being weighed and it was all part of the disorder. She argued with me in front of patients and told me my insurance wouldn't cover the visit if I didn't weigh. She kept telling me I didn't have a choice and wouldn't back down. I felt humiliated in front of the other patients and I didn't feel that was professional so I cancelled my future appointments and never looked back.

That doctor coincidentally happens to be my dad's doctor, my aunt's doctor...and my boyfriend's and his entire family's doctor. Oh - and my boyfriend's ex girlfriend shadowed the doctor at the office. I won't get too much into details, but I have heard things that the doctor has said about me from ALL of them. My aunt and dad have told me that he has talked to them about how I cancelled appointments, and about how "maybe it's because her boyfriend's ex shadows here and that's why she doesn't want to come back." Then he told my boyfriend's mom that I am "crazy" and to watch out for me. When she asked why, he said "Oh, her dad was telling me that she's crazy during his last appointment." Worse, he even told her the story about how I refused to be weighed.

This all came out as a topic of conversation tonight with my boyfriend's mom and because of this doctor I basically had to spill my guts about my past ED so they would understand the weight thing.