Advice for an "old" student

Hello!

I am a thirty-something professional with a MS in biology/genetics/physiology and considering applying to PA school. Unfortunately, some of my prereqs are older than 10 years, so I will have to retake a few of them. My MS is only 4 years old, and I currently am a AP Biology teacher/adjunct college professor/MCAT review instructor, so I'm immersed in the topics constantly. I am not worried about getting As in any prereqs I need to retake. My GRE score is very good and my MS GPA is 3.93. I only made one B. I am going to shadow my kids' PA this summer and I'm hoping to start volunteering at a local medical clinic very soon.

Here are my questions:

1. Am I crazy to consider this? (Long story short, I always wanted to work in medicine, but life happens, and I never applied to PA school or med school.This is the realization of a dream for me.)

2. Am I too old?

3. I have been asked to interview for a summer TEACHER research opportunity at a school that is also one of my top choices to apply to PA school. Do you think it would hurt my chances of being accepted into PA school if I were to be accepted into a TEACHER paid summer research program that is intended to develop and invest in TEACHERS? (I am not planning to apply to PA school until Fall 2017, entry (hopefully!!!) in Summer 2018.

I appreciate any advice any of you have to offer regarding my nontraditional journey! Thank you so much!

1. no, not crazy

2. no, not too old

3. if you want to pursue PA as a career, your choices for how you spend your discretionary time should reflect this. So instead of spending your time on a research opportunity, see if you can create an opportunity to interact with patients.