Direct patient care requirements

Hi,

I am a Pre-PA student thats currently knocking out my PA Prereqs. I am also searching through potential PA schools I will apply in couple years and I couldn't help to notice some of them have a 2000-4000 hr direct patient requirement?  I was a little shocked by that since those type of hours are only attained by current healtcare professionals.  I am Active Duty military, I fly jets and I am a little bummed that I would need to get out of the military, get a job in the Medical field for 2-3 years just to have enough hours built up to apply to some PA schools. 

Can anyone shed some light on their experiences with this and how they got around the requirement if that is even possible at all?  It seems odd that the requirement to get into PA schools are more stringent than Medical School.  

Thanks for your help.

Hi,

I am a Pre-PA student thats currently knocking out my PA Prereqs. I am also searching through potential PA schools I will apply in couple years and I couldn't help to notice some of them have a 2000-4000 hr direct patient requirement?  I was a little shocked by that since those type of hours are only attained by current healtcare professionals.  I am Active Duty military, I fly jets and I am a little bummed that I would need to get out of the military, get a job in the Medical field for 2-3 years just to have enough hours built up to apply to some PA schools. 

Can anyone shed some light on their experiences with this and how they got around the requirement if that is even possible at all?  It seems odd that the requirement to get into PA schools are more stringent than Medical School.  

Thanks for your help.