Financial Aspect !

Hello All 

I am currently working in Nuclear medicine Field as a Tech which pays fairly well in nevada ($38-40 / hour ). however jobs are very limited and no where in the state pays as well. I have always wanted to be PA ever since I started Nuc Med. I love the freedom of being a PA, Patient care aspect and the freedom to move around the state without worrying about finances.  I have two concerns and Im hoping to get some insight from PA's currently working

1. I had a hard time finding a job when I graduated in 2010 . How's the PA job market ?

2. Not only I will be acquiring over $80 k loans and spending my saving but also losing a 75k income for two years. would I be able to recover and come ahead in few years after graduation ? according to AAPA salaries, I shouldn't have any issues but not sure how realistic the reports are .

Thank you all so very much for all your inputs !   

Hello All

I am currently working in Nuclear medicine Field as a Tech which pays fairly well in nevada ($38-40 / hour ). however jobs are very limited and no where in the state pays as well. I have always wanted to be PA ever since I started Nuc Med. I love the freedom of being a PA, Patient care aspect and the freedom to move around the state without worrying about finances. I have two concerns and Im hoping to get some insight from PA's currently working

1. I had a hard time finding a job when I graduated in 2010 . How's the PA job market ?

2. Not only I will be acquiring over $80 k loans and spending my saving but also losing a 75k income for two years. would I be able to recover and come ahead in few years after graduation ? according to AAPA salaries, I shouldn't have any issues but not sure how realistic the reports are .

Thank you all so very much for all your inputs !

1. Plenty of PA jobs-- for now. Will probably need to reevaluate that in 5-7 years.