Sign in to follow this  
CO PA-C

Geriatrics/ Nursing Home

Hello, I am a 1st year PA student from GA and I am hoping that someone who works in a nursing home could give some info about:

Typical day

Job enjoyment

Job opportunities

Job security

Any advice...

Thank you 

I work in geriatrics and have worked in skilled nursing homes and assisted living facilities (terminology is different in different states). Some health systems are open to PAs and some prefer to NPs but I think the market is opening to PAs. I don't think it's a typical PA job but I really enjoy it, I like having long term relationships with patients and families and having a mix of primary care, chronic illness and end of life care. As PAs, we can't be the attending for hospice patients (hopefully this will change in the future) but we can co-manage hospice patients as their primary care provider.

During a typical day, I have a list of patients that I am going to see for scheduled visits (they need to be seen at certain intervals according to Medicare guidelines) or at admission and whoever is sick. Obviously there are issues that come up during the day too. I also need to sign off on labwork, imaging, verbal orders and other paperwork. There might be a family meeting or phone calls with guardians. I have to handle electronic stuff that comes in through the EMR and pages from the other facilities. There's a certain amount of juggling of needs that happens throughout the day.