How do you obtain Healthcare Experience as an undergrad?

I'm currently in my 2nd year of undergrad at UCLA. Is it possible for an undergrad to accumulate healthcare experience? I'm not sure how to even approach becoming a CNA, Medical Assistant/scribe, EMT, etc. Do you need to take classes to be certified in order to become one of these? How difficult would it be to obtain a position for healthcare experience?

Thank you.

if you're in school full time I would say do CNA. RN's have to do CNA class on top of their curriculum so it's do-able. there is also patient care tech, phlebotomy tech, and EKG tech. all of those are relatively brief (6-8 weeks.) CMA, EMT and scribe programs are anywhere from 1-2 years, not to mention a lot more in depth and more expensive, which can make juggling them with full time undergrad very hard.

Also, pretty much all of them require graduation from a school. CMA, scribes and EMTs have to be through an accredited school. I believe RNs can teach CNA classes. patient care tech is prob the most flexible. they might hire a patient care tech who had experience in nursing facility care or home health care!

I'm currently in my 2nd year of undergrad at UCLA. Is it possible for an undergrad to accumulate healthcare experience? I'm not sure how to even approach becoming a CNA, Medical Assistant/scribe, EMT, etc. Do you need to take classes to be certified in order to become one of these? How difficult would it be to obtain a position for healthcare experience?

Thank you.

Check with the continuing education people at community colleges in your area. Traditional EMT-Basic programs are usually a few months long and accelerated courses can be found that are only a couple of weeks. CNA is typically a very short class...in my state, you don't even have to take the class...just pass the test.