I'm not a "shot" guy

Guest ral

I work as an independent contractor at a couple of hospitals, in the ED. Started a little side job at a newly opened urgent care, at the request of a professional (non-practitioner) colleague. In discussing providing coverage for the urgent care clinic with the supervising physician, I made it very clear that I do not do what I call "puppy mill medicine", meaning that if they were looking strictly for numbers of patients being pushed through, I was not their man. She agreed that quality of care trumps quantity. Okay, good. Got that out of the way. The first day I showed up, some of the MA's were asking my preferences for certain tasks such as lac tray set up and other procedures, injections, etc. I announced to the group that I am not a "shot guy". There is a role for injections, and I rarely use the commonly ordered Rocephin, when I am about to discharge a patient with a written antibiotic Rx, and I definitely discourage the used of IM steroids for everything from simple rhinitis, to ingrown toenails, that seems to be the med du jour of many practitioners. Not saying I never order an injection; I am just very selective, and have to convince myself that it would be beneficial. I always give my patients my reasoning, often citing evidence based research.