Supervising/running nuclear stress tests as a new grad

So I'm a new grad (5 months since graduating). I've been working at a cardiologists office for the past 4 months. I shadowed the other PAs for 3 months who were doing it and now I'm supervising (reading EKGs, administrating Lexiscan/Dobutamine, etc.) the nuclear stress tests. Obviously I'm working nuclear radiology technicians who have been doing this for years and there's always a doctor in the office. I'm ACLS trained but I've never put that training into use. 

My only thing is that I don't know if this is "kosher", so to speak. I don't know if there are any PAs that are on this site supervise nuclear stress testing, if so then it would be great to get some input. Or general input from any PAs would be great

Have seen or heard of this done in multiple hospitals. Yes it is kosher. The attending is typically in the hospital and available for consultations as needed. There is a lot to learn so hopefully your support staff and attending are helpful and available for questions.

This is an evolving areas for PAs. The PA can run the nuclear lab with support staff one or more days of the week. You may have an attending or possibly fellow over reading your EKGs. Nuclear images interpreted by radiologist.

Not my specialty so can't offer you any resources except for this great book Cardiolofy made ridiculously simple which has dedicated chapters on this

http://www.amazon.com/Clinical-Cardiology-Ridiculously-Edition-Medmaster/dp/1935660047

Otherwise keep learning and you will get more confident and comfortable after your first year of practice.

I ran stress tests in an office shortly after I started out. The doc has to be in the building for Medicare billing purposes.

Make sure you're trained on how to handle problems, like using aminophylline in addition to ACLS drugs.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD