Productivity Based Compensation (and a few other job search related questions)?

I will be graduating in August, and I've started just perusing some job listings. I know its probably considered a little too early to apply as of yet, but I wanted to get a feel for what's out there and what different jobs look like on paper. 

My deepest desire is to work in emergency medicine and/or trauma and critical care, so that's where I've been concentrating my search. 

I have realized that I have no experience on these subjects, since I was in EMS before coming to PA school and that "job negotiation" experience was more like "you'll take this $8/hour, work crippling hours and LIKE IT", and it seems like things might be a bit different in this neck of the woods, so if you wouldn't mind applying your infinite wisdom to a few questions, I would be really grateful. 

1. Can someone give me a "for dummies" guide to productivity based compensation models? I've done a lot of online research, and it seems that most of them are based around a salary or hourly wage that is supplemented on either RVUs, patients per hour, or some form of billing. Can anybody elaborate on this a little? What does this look like when you're new and still ramping up? Is it a terrible idea to take a job with productivity based compensation when you're new? 

2. What questions would you ask future employers, especially if you are interviewing with the Head PA at a place before meeting the medical director or any HR people? And/or, if you could go back and think to ask one or more questions in an interview, what would you ask? 

3. Experiences with hiring firms / medical staffing agencies? I keep reading that they are bad, bad, bad and usually used when a position is difficult to fill (but I'm interested in the chew you up and spit you out inner-city emergency room experience, which is probably what they would consider a "difficult" position).