Sign in to follow this  
mafafa23

Interview advice

Hi Everyone,

Can anyone who has interviewed with USC offer any advice on the types of questions to expect? I have my interview on Jan 21st and I'm nervous. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Hey there,

I'm a current student at USC (Class of 2014), and the best advice I can give you is to be yourself. There is no standard set of questions, per se, however it would behoove you to have a clear understanding of why it is you want to be a PA, as well as what you hope to achieve by being in the program. Trust me, this will be the most fun you'll have on any of your interviews, good luck!

Since you are a current student can u highlight what you think are the programs strengths? Also how are u justifying the cost. Knowing what you know now would u still choose usc if u had to do it again

You should probably know that I'm a third-generation Trojan, so I definitely have some bias...I'll try to be as unbiased as possible ;)

I'll start by discussing the cost of the program: yes, it is expensive. The financial aid office is extremely helpful in securing you enough money for the year, but then you think to yourself, "how am I ever going to pay this back?" as you are basically taking a mortgage out on your education (or adding to the one you already have from your undergraduate work). I, personally, am not worried about paying it back for several reasons, the major one being that I want to work in underserved urban communities for the majority of my career (translation: scholarships and loan repayment programs are endless if you choose this route). There is also the Navy that will pay for your entire education if you give so many years of service. Finally, USC has one of the top alumni networking groups in the country, and you really can't put a price tag on that.