Rotten Interview Skills?

This is my first year applying to PA school, and this forum has been great! However, I would say the entire process has been a bit discouraging. I applied to 6 schools, am under review at 3, have interviewed at 2 and been rejected from both of those interviews. The first time I tried not to take it personally, and hoped it was more to do with the fact that they received 2000 applicants and at the time of my interview I still had 4 prerequisites to complete which was even mentioned by one of my interviewers.  The second interview seemed to go well...or so I thought. The questions were straight forward-"why PA, where do you see yourself in 5 years, why our school". I answered honestly, wasn't nervous, and "was myself" but still received another rejection email. Neither school has offered feedback even though I have asked.  

As far as prep work, before my first interview I typed out hundreds of behavioral, traditional, ethical questions and answers. I read both of Andrew Rodican's books. I paid for a mock interview with a pa coach that told me I did great and felt there were no issues. I always research the faculty and the school and have several questions to ask at the end of my interviews. I always engage in conversations with other applicants, and get along very well with others. 

As for faults, I feel like I do not remember to use the STAR method enough, and I do not feel comfortable answering the "why should we pick you over another candidate" simply because I feel like I am just an average candidate in a sea of so many others and don't want to seem arrogant. How did some of you answer the "why should we pick you" question?  Other than that I am at a loss at what I am doing wrong. I am wondering are my answers just that off base???