Pre-Interview PA in Australia

Hi everyone!

I'm a pre-interview PA living in Melbourne, but looking to do a Grad Cert in PA starting in June. This is a new program for Australia, so we are on the cusp of something new and exciting!

About me, I'm a Canadian trained EMT, now working in Melbourne. Have worked in a rural setting in Alberta, Canada, then did 4 years working in New Zealand (where I was born), now I live and work here, since 2001. Have been an EMT (or Paramedic, as they are called here) for 16 years. Really like my job, the best part is the patient contact. Love the oldies and kids, plus the autonomy.

I actually heard about the PA program in 1993 while I was living in Canada. I had to go to the library and look up stuff the old fashioned way, pre-internet. The programs were all in the US, and I didn't have a Green Card, so couldn't move there. Study was going to be expensive, so I made the decision to be a medic. Has been great, really love it. Oh, and Medical School was out too, just didn't have the grades at the time, plus a whole range of other issues....anyway....

So I was reading an on-line article about the University of Queensland PA program graduating their first class this year. The program has been set up using PA's from the US, and it seems to be a robust program. You do a Grad Certificate first, then move onto a Masters in PA, which means you can work. Not sure how it compares with US programs, I will obtain more details when I (hopefully) get into the program!