Assistance in Application Planning please :)

Hello everyone,

I am finishing up my pre-req's to apply for admittance to the Jan. 2013 class. I was wondering if anyone could offer advice or suggestions to add to my qualifications and experiences for my application. Looking for criticism on what I might be missing that they don't quite tell you on the "admissions requirements" portion of the website.

I have a bachelors (BA) in psychology and masters (MS) in counseling psychology. My patient care hours as a mental health therapist will count as the 500 required for the program. In addition I spent a summer as a volunteer at St. Clair hospital on their oncology floor and currently work as an anesthesia aide there as well. I was accepted to both the psychology and counseling honors societies in college and also passed the National Counseling Examination which is required for state license. I also hold certification from the international sports science association as a certified personal trainer. My science GPA seems to be shaping up pretty well (around 3.5 upon completion if my last semester goes well) my undergrad GPA was a 3.0 and graduate a 3.97. I have done one day of shadowing a PA in a surgical setting and plan on several more. I also plan on taking the GRE's in the next month or two.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,

Danielle

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Danielle!

I am starting Pitt's PA program in couple weeks so hopefully I can give you some guidance. I would say your qualifications are excellent but definitely spend another few days shadowing in different areas. I would also say to get a few more volunteer hours in to show that your service was not a one time thing but an ongoing commitment. When you write your letter of recommendation, make a list of qualities that you believe a PA should have and use a few of your past experiences to show how you would make a good one instead of rattling off everything you've done.