Undergrad Major for PA School?

Hi there! I'm currently a freshman in college, and am looking to become a Physician Assistant (have been since high school). Anyway, currently I'm enrolled in a B.S. biology major. After researching some more and finding out about the HCE requirements for PA school, I've been thinking of switching over to a nursing degree (BSN) + doing the pre-reqs for PA school. The reason for this is because if I don't gain enough HCE in my undergrad years for PA school, I can take a year or two after undergrad to work as a nurse to gain that experience. Also, in the worst case scenario, if my plan of going to PA school falls out for any reason, I will still have a degree in which I can earn a decent living, pursue further education with it, and work in the healthcare field. My only concern with this is the time it might take. I know its pretty early in my college career, so I don't think this should be a big concern, but I would really like to complete my undergrad in a time of 4 years. With the BSN + PA school pre-reqs, would that be doable? Has anyone else done this before, and how did you manage to get through it?

Another reason I'm looking to switch to nursing is because again, if my plan for PA school falls out, the only thing my biology degree would be useful for is lab work or research. That does not interest me at all. I am most interested in working in the healthcare field, along side other healthcare professionals and working with patients. What do you guys think? Should I continue on with the B.S. in biology, or is it possible that I could switch over to nursing while doing PA school pre-reqs?