Redistered Dietitian to PA?

Hi, I am currently a junior in the dietetic program at the University of Kentucky. When I graduate I will have all of the prereq classes for PA school and will be an RD. I intend on getting EMT certified next summer. If I work as a RD and possibly a part time EMT for 2 years before PA school would this be enough experience? Also, my science GPA is around a 3.12 and my cumulative is 3.3, that will definitely be raised though. I am shooting for around a 3.4-3.5 science, as I have a lot of classes to take. Any suggestions on what I might be able to do in order to increase my probability of getting into PA school? My mother is an RN at a hospital where I live and can get me in with some great PA's to shadow, so hopefully that will help too. Any help would be great. Thanks!

Hi Keousi2,

I am starting a PA program this May, and my background is in dietetics. I worked for WIC for a few years and then left the field, but I believe that my experience there and also in a hospital setting helped me get in to PA school. The program I am entering values RD experience and I'm sure other programs do as well. My science GPA was 3.5 but my overall is the same as yours. Shadowing is helpful for your own good, but it doesn't count normally as experience. Working and getting paid as an RD will be gold! EMT can only help, but it may not even be necessary. Good luck, I hope that helps!

PA school is becoming very competitive so I would definitely work on getting your science gpa up. it is not an end all but the better your gpa the better off you will be. A couple of years as a RD and EMT is good experience and shadowing PA's in different specialties is a great idea too. Sounds like you are on the right track to make yourself a competitive applicant. Good luck with everything.