Grrr! My undergrad GPA is haunting me.

I graduated in '98 with a BS but I screwed up big time in college. My current GPA after I retook and aced the prereqs bumped up to 2.79 and BCP GPA 2.91. I've got 10+ years of a solid professional career (not health-related) and current HCE as a medical scribe, yet this number is holding back schools from even looking at other aspects of my application. One of the programs stipulates that successful completion in 15 hours of graduate level course work in a related field could help. Is it possible to get 15 hours of graduate level course work but not be in a master's program?

I graduated in '98 with a BS but I screwed up big time in college. My current GPA after I retook and aced the prereqs bumped up to 2.79 and BCP GPA 2.91. I've got 10+ years of a solid professional career (not health-related) and current HCE as a medical scribe, yet this number is holding back schools from even looking at other aspects of my application. One of the programs stipulates that successful completion in 15 hours of graduate level course work in a related field could help. Is it possible to get 15 hours of graduate level course work but not be in a master's program?

hi just wondering, where are you scribing at?

Molly, I would say it depends on the specific school. Here at the University of Idaho, one can take grad courses without actually being in a master's program. (Of course, they charge extra for being in both undergrad and grad classes!) Another possibility is taking other science courses. That would help you out with the science info later and help your gpa.