PA school 3 yrs plus 1 year prereqs - Med school 4 yrs plus residency?

Currently I am a substitute teacher. I am thinking of pursuing a career as a Physician Assistant (hate that name, but love the job description). I have noticed that I have to take Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology and possibly Biochemistry as pre-requisites to get in, which will take a year. Then I have to get a year or more of health care experience. Then the PA programs themselves are nearly three years long (!). I understand that medical training is arduous, but doesn't this length of training and pre-requisites seem rather close to medical school?

Is it fair to say that medical school is just one extra year plus residency? Please enlighten me regarding some of the major differences between physician assistant training and physician training.

Thank you for any information!

The pre reqs for med school and PA school are getting closer to each other every year. However, there are still PA programs that do not require micro and bio, nor do they specify any sort of chemistry (UW/Medex, one of the top schools, is an example). I don't know of any med schools that don't require a stringent chemistry background.

So one primary difference that I can think of off the bat is that there are PA schools that will give an applicant tangible credit for their previous medical experience. Essentially, they allow your health care experience to count as proof positive that you can handle the demands of PA school. Again, I cite Medex as one of those schools. (I am a student in their program). I don't know of any med school in the US that will say "you were a Navy Corpsman for 10 years with a strong basis in emergency medicine and surgical medicine, then you were a paramedic for 12 years...you can skip a bunch of the science classes" PA school still does. Or at least some of them.