Stay and Pay for PA vs debt free MD + Family relocation

I have probably read every "pa vs md post" both on SDN as well as on PA forums. It is a very difficult decision and am hoping for some experienced advice about my particular situation.

I am already 26 years old, married,and have a 4 year old daughter. I am now just a junior in a BS Public Health program and am completing all pre-reqs for MD and/or PA programs. I know that a career in medicine is my passion. I have worked in a hospital for about 5 years now as a telemetry/ekg/treadmill tech, my wife is a nurse.

My dillema is that if I get accepted to a Med school in Michigan I would not have to pay tuition. this is because I qualify for the Michigan Indian Tuition Waiver. The major downside would be having to relocate my wife and daughter to Michigan with it's economic troubles, crime etc... for the 4 years of med school vs staying put and going to PA school here.

My wife is terrified at leaving where she has lived her entire life and all of her and my friends and family. I know many many people have endured much harder times to get through med school than relocating with just one child, but I wanted to hear what you folks had to say.

Is a nearly debt free MD worth increasing the stress on my marriage? And How can I possibly be sure that I wouldn't be just as happy as a PA even with the debt, but being able to keep my daughetr near all of her grandparents and in the same school district? I understand the major differences between PA and MD's roles and responsibilities, but I also read very mixed messages about the number of hours worked by each and the real benefit of the PA profession for people that value their family as much as their career. Thanks to all who read this.

**I also posted this on SDN a few minutes ago in the PA section,under the same User name as here**

1. Mama ain't happy, ain't nobody happy