Help with Salary and Bonus for FL Ortho PA

Hi, I am fairly new to the PA Forum, which is a great resource!!! Sorry, but this could be a long one!!

I am an Ortho PA for the past 3.5 yrs, PA for more than 18 yrs. 3 yrs ago joined this group working for 2 of 9 doc group. My 2 are the busiest, and rather frugal with a dollar. I started a little low, but the average for a PA in FL as I had been out of service for almost 4 yrs while in Med School(more on that later).

Started at $85, first year 8k bonus after working my butt off and finding that extra call, which is not paid call, was routine for these guys. Collections were in the $200k range. Trauma hospital and 4 others covered usually at the same time, 1wk per doc back to back. Have PTO, $2500 and a week CME, pay for my own health etc on the group plan, 401k after there one year which is contributed to by the Group at 3% of base salary. Last year $11K bonus, and this year $11k bonus, on $248K collections, with raises begged for and gotten and up to $93 base. Gross last year was $112K with some overtime from covering for vacant PA, ie call and many surgeries. No definitive bonus structure or definition and no contract.

My question is, is this what I should expect, or am I being nieve and getting pummeled and don't realize it.

One of the senior docs has told me to grow a pair and demand better bonuses. I am aware that one of the other PAs, who has a little more Ortho experience than me, but much less PA experience and less education is getting 50% of anything over 200K, with her base being higher than mine, with same time at the group, where she covers two docs and puts less time than I do as her two docs are less busy and they cover her weekends better on and off call.

Help me please with a definitive plan of 'up it or lose me, or shut up and be happy'.

Thanks for any advice.

Docrip

• 2 years later...
  • 2 weeks later...