From acupuncture to pa school?

Hello, I am a licensed Acupuncturist and I am seriously considering going back to school to become a PA. Has anyone else gone down this career path of Acupuncturist to Physician Assistant? I would love to hear from you if you have because I want to know what obstacles you had to overcome along with any other tips. I have a masters degree in acupuncture and I am really wanting to know if any of my credits from acupuncture school would count towards prereq's or pa coursework (I know this is not likely). Would my background help or hurt me when it comes to getting into pa school and getting a job as a pa? Are there any integrative or cam opportunities for PA's? Thanks!

• 4 months later...
Guest riyanjason

If you are taking A&P for credit, there are no online courses that exist, you will need to find an accredited school that offers it for credit (community colleges are great places for that)...You might find a class that has an online lecture with an in-class lab. However, if you are just taking it for your own personal education, just google online A&P and you will probably find a few companies offering it, just know that it will definitely not count for credit. If your goal is just to refresh, I'd recommend getting a textbook and going over it yourself...much cheaper!

• Administrator

One of the students in my PA class has her masters' in Chinese Medicine. Not a common path to PAdom, but yes, definitely doable.

No, none of your existing credits will count for PA school. Depending on the topic, age, and preferences of the programs to which you apply, they MAY count as prerequisites, but that evaluation will be on a case-by-case basis. Call the program(s) you're most interested in and seek their position on this directly.

The above post is wrong WRT online A&P for credit. There are plenty of online, accredited options.