South PA Prerequisites

Just a bit of information you may or may not already know:

I graduated with a BS in Kinesiology and minor in Biology in May 2010. I applied this fall for South's upcoming PA class, and I was informed today that the prerequisites for the program under Biology II are as follows for those whose schools did not provide an actual "Biology II" course: genetics, molecular or cellular for biology II.

I searched and searched 10-15 different PA programs, most of them ranked higher than SU, and none of them showed these requirements and therefore I did not realize I was lacking. I have been informed that I will not be able to be considered for the class of 2014 because of this. I hope this helps other pre-PA students in their hopes of acceptance.

(My sister is currently in MCG/GHSU program in Augusta, GA and was unaware of this. A friend in the PA program at Keck School of Medicine in California was also surprised.)

South has almost the same prereq's as USC (Keck). Your typical 1-year general biology cycle usually works, however, since my school does not offer one, I contacted South prior to applying to confirm its prereq's as well as what did it want from my school.

As for checking the prereq's from higher ranked schools as a basis of comparison, while it's likely a fair course of action to follow, it does not mean that there isn't a due diligence that needs to be followed for each program. Utah for example is one of the top programs in the country, yet have the easiest pre-req's and no GRE. Touro, which is hardly one of the best requires Biochemistry. Go figure.

Hope the rest of your apps go better.

Rich