Job Market- How good/bad for an older PA

Hello- I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I'm a 50 year old engineer, about to embark on a career change to become a PA. I've been working for a few years on my prerequisites, shadowing, etc., and have really enjoyed it, and have now been accepted to two schools, with an interview at a third, so the opportunity is upon me, and I am very excited about it!

The PAs I shadowed have all been very positive with job prospects for PAs, but I kind of want to hear the ugly side of things also- the economy doesn't seem to be showing a lot of pickup, so who knows where we will be in two years. People I know that just graduating from nursing school are having a terrible time finding that 'first job'. I am having some jitters about entering the job market at 52 years of age in a down economy, although I can show a great job track in my current career, which would hopefully count for something. Has anyone seen older PA graduates have trouble with getting that first job? How is the market for new grads in general right now?

I'm in the southeastern US by the way. Thanks for any input!

I'm in new york, and I graduated at the begning of July, and just got my first job (today in fact). Everyone kept telling me NYC was an awful place for new grads, but myself, and none of my classmates who live here seemed to have a hard time, and its only been 2 1/2 months since we graduated. I dont know what the SE is like, but i got job offers daily for out of state positions, so I'm sure you'll be fine. And we had two classmates in their 40's who both found jobs they wanted.