Prior Misdemeanor...will this affect acceptance into PA school or sitting for boards?

Hi,

I was arrested for DUI last year and placed on probation. Per my lawyer, this will be on my record (DUI is NOT expungeable) as an arrest but not a conviction. However, I can do nothing to get the "arrest but no conviction" off of my permanent record. I am an excellent student and the last person on earth anyone would ever suspect of this (not that that matters on paper!).

My question is simply this... do PA schools accept applicants w/ a DUI arrest on their record? I am not looking for judgement on my actions please, just an answer if you happen to know. My lawyer assured me he has defended many doctors, nurses, dentists, PTs etc. However, I don't know if they already had a license to practice.

Also, can I be denied a seat for national board testing based on this? Has anyone had a similar experience?

Thank you!

From what I know, although you may be able to get accepted into a program you can be denied licensure depending on the state due to having a DUI on your record. I would imagine even if this is not an official deal breaker for adcoms, it will factor into their decision making. This is something that I would assume varies program to program and quite frankly person to person. Obviously it is not something that looks good on your application, and people tend to have pretty strong opinions when it comes to drug/alcohol charges...especially when pursuing a career which is focused on helping people and using good judgement. Since this did happen only a year ago it is going to be pretty hard to write this off as reckless adolescence, I dont mean for this to sound judgemental but these are topics which are going to be raised down the line at any school or employment opportunity. You definitely need to be prepared to confront the issue head on because I am sure that it will come up if you are given an interview.