Tail Coverage Question

I am a new grad and was just offered an internal medicine job in Florida with malpractice insurance covered, but no tail coverage. I am under the impression that tail coverage is necessary, but when I asked my employer about it he said "PAs don't really need it". Does anyone have any advice? Do I really need tail coverage and is there a way for me to purchase it on my own if I do need it? Thanks!

• 2 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

You will often only be able to secure tail coverage from the carrier who has insured you. Further it can be quite pricey up to 4 times the annual premium depending on the lenght of the tail policy. You can eliminate the need to buy tail coverage by securing your own personal medical liability policy. This policy will follow you from employer to employer eliminating the need to purchase a costly tail policy and also eliminates any coverage gaps. It is definately the more economical way to go, I just got one through mededge.

You need tail coverage only if your malpractice policy is a Claims-Made policy. THat means that the coverage is activated when the claim is made. i.e. you switch carriers today, but a patient you saw last week sues you over an incident that occurred last week, the new policy covers the incident, not the policy that was active during the incident. If your employer has Occurrence coverage you do not need a tail because the policy that was in effect the date of the Occurrence covers the incident. i.e. you switch carriers today, but a patient you saw last week sues you over an incident that occurred last week, last weeks policy covers the incident.