Dumping MD for PA?

Hi everyone,

I'll get straight to the point. I am a 3rd year medical student at a mainland US medical school. For a variety of reasons, I have gotten to the point where I'm sure that I no longer want to pursue this path to a career in medicine.

After speaking to the dean, I have been granted a short leave to figure out what I need to do. He recommended researching the PA profession. Thus here I am.

I have done a bit of research online and found some things out. But I still have a bunch of questions about the application process.

1. During my first two years, we had clinical work (standard patients) as well as OSCE's and preceptorships year-round. I've seen all kinds of patients - those who listen, those who don't listen, those who try to sell me drugs, those who threaten to kill me, etc. While working under doctors, I've been "pimped" more times than I can imagine. Would my time in med school be considered clinical experience worthy of a PA acceptance?

2. My GPA from college was 3.4. My GPA from med school was a pass, which I'd assume would be a 2.5-3.0. Which would PA schools look at? And are those numbers competitive?

3. I took the MCAT in 2007 (32 with even 11/11/10 spread). Would I need to take another exam? I noticed that MCAT and GRE were both acceptable options.

4. Would any of my medical school classes transfer to PA school? For example, I'm sure both programs' gross anatomy classes are similar enough.