new grad ready to quit job

Hello,

I don't know where to start.  First off, I was offered a job as a hospitalist for only 70,000 a year.  I did not start the day i was suppose to d/t an error made by hr even though the day is stated in my employment aggreement.  This cost me 3 wks pay.  I started in sept. I was expected to round independently and come up with plans/orders for  the icu, floors and rehab pts.  I am a new grad! Right now (2.5 months of experience) I see about 20 ppl per day for 5 days a week. I round for 8 hrs straight!  I am expected to work one weekend a month so I sometimes work 10 days in a row til my next day off!!! My attending sees both hospitals and when the census is low I also see both! NO break at all on low census days.  One time I saw 27 ppl.  Is this normal to be burnt out already or feel this way as a new grad?  I am ready to quit. 

I am a new grad as well. I expect to be really burnt out from my first job. Any new grad is going to feel stressed and burned out and in over their head on their first job... That's inevitable. But it sounds like you have very little support and are expected to do things that are way beyond your experience level. As new grads it's essential we find a good SP willing to train and be there when we are in over our head - or at least be there to ask questions. If you don't have THAT I don't blame you for feeling overwhelmed. Plus, I feel like the pay is extremely low even for a new grad (the lowest I've heard of among my classmates for a new grad job is 85K but I know the AAPA salary report says new grads make in the high 70s and low 80s). It's extremely low considering your hours and level of responsibility.

One hundred pt visits per week and you are earning 70,000

Wow they are making a killing off you while you try not to kill anyone.

Immediately start a job search.

Notifiy HR AFTER you have a signed offer, start date and ready to roll