Solo ER call

Just venting...

This is my first weekend of solo ER call. Well, not totally solo. My MD backup has 20 minutes to be in if I call him, but that is an ETERNITY in ER time. I've been working in the ER for two months now, during the day, with MD backup in the facility if I need it. Tonight at 5, though, I'm on my own. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little nervous. I love the ER and the almost immediate gratification that you get from focusing on one issue and, hopefully, making people feel better (even if its just treating their pain). Most of the things that come through the ED are pretty benign and I feel comfortable handling them. Its the TRUE emergencies that make me question my sanity for taking this job. You know, when rapid clinical decisions need to be made immediately or else someone will die. I eventually want to be capable of handling these types of situations but I know that will probably take years. I guess I'll hold on tight in the mean time and hope all goes well...

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

oh yeah - I wanna be you!!!!!111

after having done a number of different jobs over the past 7 years I am thinking the ER is where I belong so that I can be the decision maker (to old to go back to med school) in some small out of the way ER... problem is what you are descrbing scares the healll out of me!

So I will keep up on your thread and see what wise old crusty ER PA's have to say.....

What state are you in (other then the state of panic??)

Good luck! (and remember you likely know a lot more then you think!! - and in you spare time pick up a copy of the book http://litmed.med.nyu.edu/Annotation?action=view&annid=11748

"here just trying to save a few lives" I am 3/4 through it and thinking oh crap why do I want to do er....

What state are you in (other then the state of panic??)