Cornell PA Program Pros and Cons

I am a Weill Cornell PA student open to questions about the Cornell PA program. I thought I would make myself available to anyone who might want to find out more about the school.

Many students choose Cornell because of its surgical focus and because the name Cornell might serve them in the future. While this is may be true, it is a lot to pay for reputation. The school’s cost with tuition and fees (fees are an additional 20-25% of tuition) is approximately $75,000. Living in New York costs at least another $1500-2000/month. Total debt at the end of two years could be as much as $150,000.

I have listed some pros and cons about Cornell's program, because each one of you will be dedicating the next couple of years to studying hard and accruing a considerable debt. Hopefully this list will give you the extra information you need to choose the program that is right for you.

Pros:

1.Surgically focused program with an awesome surgery professor.

2.Full anatomy dissection course with a great team of doctors. Lots of support and about 6 students per cadaver. (This was an intensive course done in 6 weeks).

3.15 months of rotations in excellent settings.

4.Short didactic year of 10 months.

5.Most professors teach their material well.

Cons:

1.The program is poorly administered and lacks sufficient staff to administer the program correctly.

2.Very little student support.

3.Schedules are posted weekly, not by semester.

4.Mandatory dress requirement: men must wear ties and women cannot wear open-toed shoes.

5.The program lacks teaching space and has to shuffle its students around at times.

6.Mandatory class attendance.

7.Housing is not guaranteed.

Again, feel free to contact me with any questions.

• Upvote 1

Hi.