Any words of wisdom for new grad anxiety (going into ER)?

Guest ERCat

Finally... The licensing and credentialing process is now complete. It has been a four month process and I've been dying to start working the whole time. I officially have three weeks till I start my job in the ER, as I just learned I am being added to the December schedule. I've been excited for months, doing many things to prepare myself, but last night I woke up at 2 AM with a knot in my stomach and have felt anxious all day.

I have been extremely motivated to be a rock star PA in the ED -- a good provider for patients and a good member of the ED team that people want to work with. I want to follow the most cutting edge, evidence based practices, I want to be compassionate, I want to be thorough. I want to show that I am smart. I have actually studied quite a bit since I graduated four months ago. Have been doing an online ER Bootcamp, brushing up on x-rays, flipping through my Minor Emergencies text book and I even started looking through Bates. Even an ER conference in another city. As a result I feel like I have a leg up on book knowledge as compared to many new grads who aren't as motivated to hit the books. If someone asked me about the latest guidelines on a topic or certain medical legal pitfalls I could confidently answer... but in reality I have problems applying that knowledge. My terror limits me. For example...When shadowing and working with a PA a few weeks ago for a potential per diem job, we had a back pain patient and I led the encounter and I found myself freezing up -- when asking the patient questions, feeling nervous and then not knowing what else to ask next so just nervously doing extra steps on the physical exam to make it look like I knew what I was doing to buy myself time to think. When the patient asked questions I felt inside I had an answer and it sounded right but I found myself not saying anything and instead looking at the PA to formulate a response. I have a